Algoma Elementary Teachers is a northern local representing over 450 educators across 6 districts including  Sault Ste. Marie, Central Algoma, North Shore, Chapleau, Wawa and Hornepayne.  ETFO is the largest teachers’ union in Ontario with over 84,000 members.


Algoma Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario

Single Divider


•  To protect the local and provincial collective bargaining rights of all members
•  To defend publicly-funded public education
•  To serve the needs of the membership
•  To provide for the professional learning of members
•  To advocate for human rights in the areas of peace, anti-poverty, non-violence, equity and anti-racism
•  To fight against anti-Black racism
•  To advocate for the economic and labour rights of all workers
•  To support international assistance and co-operation
•  To advocate for the care and protection of the environment and actively engage in climate action
•  To actively engage members in the Federation and labour movement
•  To advocate for and protect the health and safety of members, both physically and psychologically